Washington State Underinsured Motorist Claims
Unlike Oregon, under RCW 48.22.030 (6), stacking of insurance policies when a vehicle is underinsured is prohibited. Thus, if a Washington state driver is insured with $100,000 of her/his own insurance and is hit by an at-fault driver with only $50,000.00 worth of insurance, the maximum insurance available to the injured insured is only $100,000.00.
The at-fault driver would pay a maximum of $50,000.00 of their policy limits and the innocent injured driver would have their policy of $100,000.00 available offset by the $50,000.00 policy limit of the at-fault driver.
Have questions about underinsured motorists in Washington State? Give Clark Law & Associates a call today at (503) 238-1010!